Against My Better Judgment

I’ll soon be taking another J-E interpreter/translator job.  I didn’t apply for this,  the recruiting agency which got Son Unit his job contacted me  about the job.

Given my experience at the Ghetto Company, why am I taking this job?  One, the job is  at one of Toyota’s factories here and I know they don’t run their factories,like the Ghetto Company runs its operations- if Toyota did, they would have gone out of business decades ago. (note that in the time since I left the Ghetto  Company,  through Facebook, etc., a number of people there have also since moved on to another employer).  So the irritants that made working at the Ghetto Company trying, the work rules that made no sense,  managerial altitude/ineptitude, worker morale, should not be there.

Second,  its not an open ended gig:  it’ll be just for  four months and then back home.  Should be able to share Son Unit’s studio, which he’s not too crazy about and I understand,  its his life and I’m sure I’d feel some discomfort too if I were he and I will do what I can to respect his privacy/personal space, etc.  Only see one problem, and that is use of the shower/toilet.  He’s just got one in the studio he now lives in.

Last, while the factory is not in a bustling diverse area like where I call home,  its not a utter wasteland where the Ghetto Company is located.  Still there are misgivings. It does bother me that while I took a very short “test’ of my ability to interpret,  I get the sense that these people too misunderstand interpreting is plug and play. My experience at the Ghetto Company definitely drove this home.

Another misgiving is leaving wife unit to mind the castle.  Unlike the Ghetto Company, I’ll be gone for most of the summer meaning there’s a lawn to be kept cut weekly.  Security too.  The other night, a car parked directly across the street from the house, a car we did not recognize as belonging to a neighbor,  that caused a bit of concern from wife unit. Many years ago,  we had a large dog, who did a good job to letting about a big, deep, loud “woof” when anyone approached the house, but now…

So with unemployment having run out…..at least I don’t have to use the DC Metro right now, which may have hit absolute bottom and  is furiously digging deeper in terms  of service and personal security.

Still looking for other full time employment, a job that makes use of all my work skills.  At the suggestion from a friend I have in Tokyo,  applied for a position in Tokyo with a automotive supplier.  Would love to get that job.  It would use more of my skills and after having come to America to raise son unit,  think I owe it to wife unit to if possible, spend a few years living and working in Japan before we both decided its time to leave the workforce for good.

Another job applied too is local, with some unnamed Japanese trading company, a job that would also make full use of all my experience and skills and the pay is pretty decent.  Was told the company’s pace is slow and very deliberate and I probably should not expect an answer before I start the other job.

Besides that?  have used my downtime to take care of an eyesight issue,  having one outpatient surgery to take care of the worse eye and scheduling  the other surgery later in July to take care of the other.  Walk around now still wearing eye glasses, but with one lens punched out. It looks weird, but putting in and then having to paw around at night, especially when tired, a contact lenses is a bore.

See  others whose blogs I follow have either stopped writing or in one case, one I have followed with interest  back in my Vox days, has simply and unexpectedly disappeared.

This entry was posted in ghetto company, Japanese to English interpretation, son unit, The DC Metro sucks, The Metro. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Against My Better Judgment

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    Yes, the metro is certainly challenging at the moment! Good luck for the job application in Japan and hope the eye surgery recovery goes well.

Leave a Reply

