My Father was Right, There is a Right Way to Get Even

There’s a Japanese woman on this project, perhaps in her mid-thirties, who I’ve never laid eyes on before prior to working here and yet, for reasons unbeknownst to me, she refuses to even acknowledge a greeting or have the civility to provide so much as a simple ‘good morning’ when we pass one another in one of the corridors.

Again, don’t know why.  The only conversation I have had with her was to try to pay a complement when I noticed she was wearing nicely scented cologne, to which she snapped, it wasn’t her.

Now the worksite is for good reasons, well-secured:  you don’t go very far in or out without a properly coded magnetic pass card. Yesterday afternoon, I has swiped my pass card to reenter and who on might be on the other side was this woman, who I held the door open for to let her pass first.  Her grimace of internal pain, embarrassment and chagrin was photo-worthy, and she still didn’t bother to mumble a thank you or nod.

But that’s okay.  My father once said the best way to get back at someone who has caused you trouble is to be nice to them……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

