A Good Day to Hate Life in DC

I like Fridays as 1., it is the end of the work week, and 2nd, I max out at 50 hours at 4:30, meaning at least for now, I can go home while there is still sunshine.

This afternoon however, get to Metro Center station and see a lager than usual crowd of people on the platform and no trains coming. Wait more while the platform continues to fill with people to the point that it is getting a bit dangerous, meanwhile no trains nor more important any information broadcast as to if there is a problem or what it is (which wound not happen in Japan).

Star thinking of workarounds, but that means throwing away the amount deducted from my electronic pass.

Finally, a train comes, crowded, but I get on and  to the station where I keep the car, which shows me again the wisdom of not leaving the car at the station nearest home.

Go on my way home, knowing traffic will not be good, but it was far worse than imagined; a 13 mile drive home with the gas gage uncomfortably near empty (moral- don’t leave home  for a commute on a quarter tank or less) takes an hour an a half.

But I am lucky- I live fairly close in and not out  where the commuting time would have trebled.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Good Day to Hate Life in DC

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    It can be scary on the platforms when they’re that packed.

Leave a Reply

