No, I don’t Bitch/Obsess About the Ghetto company All the Time

With a 3-day respite from the ghetto company,  and very little to do (when I was working in NYC, finding something to do was easy; the next adventure/surprise could be just around the next block), decided to drive into Indiana on the Lincoln Highway, the first east-west paved road in the U.S.

The route, the original route that is marked perhaps every mile by these

IMG_1197

As you travel the route, you go through small towns, now by-passed by U.S. Route 30 (like a visual of the town on the movie, Cars)  like this one, called Van Wert, in Ohio that still has its own Americana.

IMG_1189Now about this photo.

IMG_1188

Saw  this in an antique store in Van wert.  I understand the historical facet of this: this was probably someone’s war trophy, but this bothered me.  Had I the asking price- $399, I would have bought it and promptly burned the foul thing- in front of the store perhaps.

Indiana, or what saw of it, was none too impressive, so rather than waste more gas (especially high for the Memorial Day weekend) I turned around.

IMG_1190

Stopped for lunch here, a holdover from a day when fast food was ordered from and brought to your car.

IMG_1192

I think I’ll have….

 

IMG_1193

A burger.

IMG_1194

Which was OK, but don’t think I’d make another  stop there.

Last there was this:

IMG_1196

I take pride in knowing my cars, but this one is a mystery to me.  I guess its pre- or immediately a post-war Detroit pickup

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

