Another Day Behind Me

Was thrown willy-nilly into a conference between visiting Japan staff and the local factory workers to translate. A daunting task being totally unprepared in terms of subject matter or basic knowledge. This as a common mistake on both side of the language barrier that translation is simply a matter of plug and play. Did the best I could and if that is not good enough, well…..

I know it wastes time but I do a complete change of clothing going in and out. Son unit during his summer gig also at a Honda supplier (different one) had to wear the ‘whites’ but kept them on to and from his apartment. I change I suppose as statement I am leaving one persona behind.

Learned this supplier has some product quality issues. Looking at the type of people they have on the floor, mostly women, some old enough to be spoiling their grandchildren. Guess they are doing the best with the material they can hire.

Am happy now to leave my laptop in the hotel room as I have a company issued one. Its annoying though that some of the more used function keys are arranged differently than what I am used to and I find myself gritting my teeth having to go back and undo stuff.

Cold, very cold. Don’t want to think what the wind chill is. Interesting though, as I am on the western edges of the Eastern time zone, its nearly 8 and the sun is only now setting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Day Behind Me

  1. “This as a common mistake on both side of the language barrier that translation is simply a matter of plug and play.” I think all these years of watching sci-fi shows where almost every alien speaks English has warped people’s mind. I’m looking at you, Star Trek’s universal translator!

Leave a Reply

