Damn Spyalert

It took about 2 weeks and 3 separate attempts by the person who I asked to remove the Spyalert malware from my desktop, but it done!  The first attempt supposedly removed Spyalert, but through the anti-virus program I have, Avast!  I could see the malware resurrected itself somehow and when I got on certain webpages, the symptoms; loads of annoying pop-ups, re-appeared.

The solution seemed to be an anti-malware program unknown to me, RougeKiller which did the job. No more pop-ups and the PC does not moan like the wind as it did when the Spyalert malware was still in it. And I escaped with just $40 dollars  in costs, far less than say The Geek Squad (who tried to talk me into buying an external hardrive- something that probably is a good thing to have, but not at their prices) and Staples.

So while the hell did I download it?  It appeared on  one of my  Google gadgets(which no longer exists as iGoogle no longer exists), so thought (wrongly) the software had been vetted…… Another lesson to learn.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Damn Spyalert

  1. Yeah, these are sneaky little so-and-so. Had one on my office computer (of all places), which disguised itself as a “java update” prompt, appearing at random when I entered an address. Hopefully, it was easily squashed but I dread having to deal with this on my own PC…

Leave a Reply

