Detroit Time

Is where I am at the moment, but in 24 hours will be back home.
Wife unit wanted to attend as she did last year, some cult-like Japanese “healing” workshop in the ‘burbs of Detroit and wanted someone to hold her hand and help drive….. Now she has GPS nav, so I suppose she’ll have to make do. She panics easily. By contrast, while I made my share of mistakes when I was in this part of the country on business, I learned the roads eventually.
Me, well I’ve never seen the Henry Ford museum, which has as 2 of its “star” pieces, the limo President Kennedy rode in when he was shot (and seeing what could be seen of the interior, I was struck by just how crude the amenities seem) and the chair Lincoln sat in when he was assassinated; and looking closely, you can discern dark spots on the fabric, which most likely are now 100m + years old. It’d be fascinating I think to take a snippet of the fabric and do a DNA analysis.
Also toured what is known in the auto industry as The Rouge, shorthand for the Rouge River Factory, from which Henry Ford spewed out car after car. For a gearhead, going there is a bit like a pilgrimage; its where it all started in a way. Interesting in to walk above the assembly line floor without some young lady busily shepherding on along the way to keep up with ‘the schedule’, but I believe from what I saw, Ford has really learned very little from Toyota in how to assemble cars.
Part of the reason may be this, spotted on the flight inbound.

image (10)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

