Something to Look Forward To

After nearly a year of being idle, I finally have some work; temp work that’ll be done in 2 or 3 months, but its still work.

I had to restraint myself  from posting a snarky response to a Facebook posting by a “friend”, complaining about wanting to say ‘screw it’ over his job.  Something said by someone who hasn’t a clue as to what it means to be without employment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Something to Look Forward To

  1. Congrats, I can relate. I’m in my third month of a 30-hour-a-month freelance job and I am spending probably double that time (the price is set, you don’t get paid extra, but I don’t care!) trying to do this job so comprehensively that it turns into a permanent gig. It could just end, the company makes a change and programs gets cut–it happens all the time. But I desperately want to be able to count on this small amount of money every month–for something I was born to do. And it ain’t cleaning houses for minimum wage, which is what the cheap people of AZ expect.

    One of the ways I’ve come to view people’s attitudes about work, politics, style of whining, etc., is as representative of two groups: PWJs (people with jobs) and the rest of us (who desperately want to work, not those who don’t want to). When PWJs are unpleasant or smug, I shake my head. Because they could be the next one to lose their house or lifestyle. It can happen so fast and unexpectedly you don’t know what hit you. As much as I envy PWJs and can’t believe how flippant they are, I don’t want anyone to lose their job. When people lose their jobs they fire their service people and dump their animals. I see it all the time. Every day the MSM blows sunshine and rainbows at us about the wonderful improvement in the economy. I don’t believe A WORD of it. Anyway, glad to hear you have some work. That translator/interpreter post you wrote a while back was just unbelievable.

  2. Couldn’t agree with you more about PWJs and it has taken me much time to learn that. There was a time when I was working full time and during lunch break, wrote checks for the monthly bill as I ate and grumbled a bit about the bills. The woman sitting across from me reminded me that at least I had a job so I could pay those bills. Something I did not appreciate at the time, but do very much now.
    I’ve noticed many Japanese-language help wanted jobs mix up translator & interpreter. To reiterate, they are 2 very different skills. As I explained to a 90+ year old aunt who once was a physician, a neurosurgeon can deliver a baby, but an obstetrician would not attempt neurosurgery.

    Best of luck with the toe hold you’ve found…hope it becomes a more permanent part of your life.

  3. Aussie Emjay says:

    Congratulations! I hope that once you start it turns into a more permanent position. Although I do occasionally complain about having a rigid 8-5 job I am extremely grateful to have it.

Leave a Reply

