Well, I know I am Not Getting That Job

In an e-mail exchange with the former work colleague who is looking to fill  a position for her group, I learned my resume, one of 69 submitted, did not make it past HR.

I was also told by the former work colleague I was not qualified as she was looking for someone with a law degree and with state-level contacts.

I have said this more than once, that government affairs work does not require someone with a law degree, even for drafting  legislation.  What is more important, IMHO, is someone who has a solid background  with whatever product or service the employer they represent provides; a reason why I do not apply to the many government affairs openings in the health care industry..  which in this case,  I am on solid, solid ground. And if this was a hard requirement, there would have/should have been in the pre=-screening questions something along the lines of “Do you have a law degree? Yes/No. had that been a hard requirement, I probably would no have submitted my resume.

A person with a law degree does mean  compensation will be bumped up/have to be bumped up because of the degree. State-level contacts?  Don’t have any, but that doesn’t mean I could not create ones of my own.

Perhaps there isn’t a way to sugar coat what I was told, but it does annoy and perhaps as bro. Pound Salt has told me more than once, I should put this person in the rear view mirror.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well, I know I am Not Getting That Job

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    It is frustrating that job postings do not simply state exactly what they are looking for in an applicant. You’d think it would save them a lot of time not having to read through all the “unsuitable” resumes.

    • As longeyesamurai posted, many times (in this case?) it can be a bit of a shell game, especialy if the wheels have been ‘greased’ for a specific person. As I have learned in life there wil always be people better and those who are not. Still to be flat told I am not qualified for lack of a law degree….that annoys.

  2. Seems to me that they have a very specific person to mind and are skirting the law just enough not to go out and name him!
    Not to make light of your situation but these 2 strips are very à propos http://dilbert.com/strips/comic/2008-02-29/ http://dilbert.com/strips/comic/2008-03-01/

Leave a Reply

