Packing Up

Still am not overly excited, or even a bit excited over the soon to happen trip to Japan.  Son unit even less so.

Wife unit has asked a number of times if I plan to take son unit to Hiroshima to tour the museum marking the atomic bombing.  I do not plan to.

I’ve never been myself and what I have heard of it is that its fairly graphic, as it should be, but more than that is the overall tone I am told of victimization and that Americans should feel guilt about it.  That is one thing I do not want son unit to come away with.

The nuclear bombing of Hiroshima was the culmination of many things, starting with Japanese aggression in China and later in the Pacific.  It was not as die-hard nationalists like to frame it, a defensive war.

With Japanese aggression, came the Korean ‘comfort women’, to whom as far as I know, the Japanese government has yet to acknowledge or make an attempt to do something for the unfortunate women.  The biological warfare experiments on humans in Manchuria, maltreatment of Allied and civilian POWs.

The bombing became inevitability due to a calculated policy to make American causatives very high, so high the hope I believe was, that the U.S would negotiate a settlement and allow those in Imperial Japan to keep their jobs so to speak. It was also made inevitable through the discouragement then as well as now of individual initiative:  there were many in Japan towards the end of the war, who knew Japan would lose, yet because of a collective paralysis no one wanted or perhaps could take the bold step to acknowledge the situation and end it (one of more ironic lines of the Imperial Rescript of Surrender, was the wording mealy-mouthing how bad things were for Japan.

So until I see in Japan,  museums or monuments bearing witness to the many horrible things committed in the name of the Showa Emperor and the Greater Asian Co-Prosperity Sphere’, I’ll forego Hiroshima.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Packing Up

  1. There’s much to see in Japan outside the museum. I myself never went, neither felt an inclination, partly for the victimization that you mention, partly because I believe Truman’s decision was correct. On a parallel track, I never climbed Fuji-san either. No. 1 reason: crowds. Then when I heard there’s vending machines on top, I said forget it!!!

  2. Unless one likes trying to wade through very deep snow at altitudes of 10,000 ft above sea level, where the air is very, very thin (the summit is 13,000 ft + change) with temperartures that even in the daytime are cool (frigid at night) then one climbs when everyone else does. And the crowds are an added safety facotr too should something go wrong during the climb, like turning an ankle, altitude sickness etc.

Leave a Reply

