Cleaner Sink This Morning

Don’t ask me why.  I certainly didn’t say anything and wife unit and son don’t know this blog exists, so they couldn’t have been embarrassed.  I’m not complaining though.

Last day of the work year and the city is pretty much devoid of traffic and people, save for the tourists.  Did learn that the project appears to be headed for conclusion pretty much on time.  Did learn the English document reviewers, many of who are barred lawyers, earn less per hour than I do. But then I have a skill they don’t so there.

Also noticed I have done twice the work of the person who sits immediately next to me, making me wonder if she’s just plain slow or I am too hurried.  Perhaps too it’s the time of the year, dark when I leave for work and dark when I return home, but feel a bit like Winston Smith (1984).  Passing through the sterile Metro stations doesn’t help that I am sure.  These stations could be better decorated, especially on the holidays, but given how PC this city is… Suppose if one wanted to know what the face of political correctness would be, I’d say look at any Metro station.

 

Still, while the work is not emotionally rewarding, I do not complain.  Had I not started this last year, I very much doubt we’d still have our house.  And that respect I’d say 2011 has not been the best year I have had, but it hasn’t been the worst.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cleaner Sink This Morning

  1. Because you didn’t do it. I have to do that sometimes too, although it backfires when he doesn’t notice how nasty the house has become. Wise of you to keep your blog a secret.

    I feel the exact same way about work, I’m glad to have it and do not complain. Well alright I do complain, but sure don’t turn it down whatever it is, rewarding or otherwise. It hasn’t been a good year for me, but like you said, I’ve had much worse. I’m still here and fighting. Better luck in 2012.

  2. I’m with ya, neither the best nor worst. PC is one of 10 reasons I’d not live in your area.

  3. Oh, Denver is a totally PC lightweight compared to Seattle, which in turn is topped by WADC, I reckon. In truth, I was a bit apprehensive about that aspect of Denver before arriving and was pleasantly surprised to discover it a far cry from Seattle, Portland, San Francisco/California. The difference between here and Seattle is (1) they don’t shove PC crap down your throat; in Seattle, over-the-top PC is a residential requirement! and (2) Colorado is historically a red state. Only Denver (with its hordes of Californians) has turned it purple in recent years. Left to its own nature, CO is conservative and therefore an important swing state *for Obama to lose in 2012!!* 🙂

Leave a Reply

