Another Day in NYC

Late this afternoon, the sun FINALLY came out!  Nice for many reasons, one of which was I was beginning to remember the unpleasantness of Japan’s rainy season and how much the weather here resembled it.

The natives here look at me as if I am crazy when I tell them I walk from Penn Stn to w. 52nd street, wheer I work for now.  ts good exercise, the subways I am told are notoriously unreliable, and you see interesting things along the way.

This for example.

The sign is not very readable, but its says this in in memory of a person who rode this bike, was struck by a truck and died.

My walk up 6th Ave. also takes me past the Fox News building and who should I see walking from the opposite direction?

This guy.

A bit shorter than I had thought, made eye contact but thought I’d do him a huge favor and not go ‘Oh its…!’  interesting too that despite his fame he just like every one else has to weave in and out of pedestrian traffic. Quite democratic, I think.

The Firm I am at now is about as different to that other gulag/law firm a bit down the road as different can be.  This Firm is amazing.  Has its own cafeteria and has free coffee, which I spin before heading up to work, looking out at.

Very little pressure on we reviewers either, which is nice for a change.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Day in NYC

  1. mizunogirl says:

    Sounds as if it is working out pretty well then. I always thought NY’ers were a city of walkers, guess not!!!!

    Free coffee, especially if good, is the best thing ever!

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    What I think of as “walkable” here most people do not – but then they drive rather than taking the metro or a bus – and we know how that turns out on the roads here! 🙂 Like mizunogirl I thought NY was a city of walkers – perhaps they just don’t walk very far.

    I’m glad this company is so much nicer than the last one.

    • @ Aussie Emjay,

      Yes the environment is sooooo nice, but I am reminded of my Law of Offices, which states there is a direct correlation between the ‘Whooa!’ and “Woow!’ factor in a given office and the demands and pressure that will put upon you should you decided to work there. 😉

Leave a Reply

