Nearly Tripped up In Translation

The project goes on. I must be doing something right as I am getting calls to come to bat for a couple of things.

Also had a jolt to show me I may be, despite the presence of the wife unit, more separated from the Japanese language than I thought I was.  There was a name on a document, 平良, which could be romanized in a couple of ways.  After a consultation with wife unit,  we settled on it being 'Hirayoshi'.

Then however, as I was reviewing the document for the final time, I spied in the mass of romanized names on the cc list, how the name is really (in this case) pronounced and to be romanized….not 'Hirayoshi' but, 'Taira'.  Mentally slapped myself on the head in a 'Why the hell didn't I think of this?'.

 

Moving in day approaches.  The pile of stuff that is supposed to fit into the Ford Escape class SUV we will rent and into son' dorm room is now……..

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nearly Tripped up In Translation

  1. Katiebell says:

    Oh my. what is that great big electronic white thing in front that looks like a bread maker? Please tell me that it isnt a bread maker! I'm sure it will be great.

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    No, its an electric hot water bottle; so son can whip up a quick mal of freeze dried noodles.

Leave a Reply

