Wonder if He Can See the Forest For the Trees

Had another enlightening moment with son last evening as we were toasting some marshmallows over charcoal.

Before I get into that however, right now, son has decided not to further purse his Japanese language education.  His reasons, overt are that Ohio Northern University only offers beginning and intermediate Japanese language courses.  I looked up the courses and saw there are 2 or was it 3 levels of intermediate Japanese.  I also counseled son that an advanced level high school Japanese language course does not equal such on a college level.  But that had no effect on son.

Now getting to last night.  As we were toasting our marshmallows, his mother comes out on the deck to kibitz about the whether there was still enough charcoal burning for toasting marshmallows (there was and more).  Son told her that 「だいじょぶ、火がまだたかい」, which raised an eyebrow with me.  To me, he used the wrong adjective 「たかい」in describing the condition of the fire (correct me if I am wrong, Pamik, others).  What he should have used was the adjective「つよい」instead.  Maybe its all a matter if getting plugged in to Japan through a study aboard program, or maybe he could still benefit from a Japanese course in college too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wonder if He Can See the Forest For the Trees

  1. Waterbaby says:

    tsuyoi is Western thought; takai is correct.

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    Excecpt there was no flame, just glowing embers.

  3. Waterbaby says:

    ah. in that case, kagayaku nokoribi?* I'm confused; if the fire was weak, why was he using takai and you tsuyoi (unless you were using them in the negative).*輝く残り火.

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    That's my point. There was no flame but the heat from the charcoal was pretty intense so.,..

  5. Waterbaby says:

    ah. in that case, I'd think tsuyoi as well, not takai, but there may well still be another word …

  6. pamik says:

    Dunno. I didn't do a lot of grilling in Japan. I leave the charcoal grilling there to the men. It's so rare that they want to take on food prep so why deny them? ;)I would say something like まだいける or まだ残っている. Don't think I'd choose an adjective in that situation, but that may be just me.

  7. An Ex-Expat says:

    Could be….it just jumped out at me that the word he used seemed so out of place and underscorces to me that despite having a native Japanese speaker aroung him since birth, his Japanese can sometimes be surprisingly…. まま。 Hmm as I typed this last sentecne it occured to me that for the past 3 years he's been around me more than his mother and perhaps that's why…?
    Hope you don't have to do the 受付gig today.

  8. Waterbaby says:

    I see pamik's point. Let us know what the wife says, she'd know!

  9. caprandom says:

    Hope your son changes his mind and decides to continue taking courses to further his Japanese, maybe the study abroad option would be the best option.

  10. An Ex-Expat says:

    She would have not used either adjective; and simply have said, まだ、大丈夫ですよ。 Go figger.

Leave a Reply

