My Son, I Think I’ll Keep Him

For those not as dated as I am the line is borrowed from a TV of maybe the early 70's, for a product/service I have forgotten, in which at the end of the commercial, the smug husband says, 'My wife, I think I'll keep her.'  It drove women then nuts and doubt such could ever be aired today.

But I've gotten off track. 

Yesterday was a work day/ play day for son at the paint ball field. He drove himself, a first, though his mother decided she was needed for navigation- rich as she's is very 方向音痴 (absolutely no sense of direction).  Anyhooooo they came home a bit late in the evening, I was sitting on the sofa reading and son comes and dumps this

 

 

..on my lap telling me its a gift for me putting up with him.  He also bought it with his own money.  Really touching this gesture.  As I've been wanting to grille steaks etc., over charcoal (don't ever, ever, compare charcoal to gas).  But I don't think I'll unpack it.  Told son he should really take this to school with him were it will prove very, very useful for him and others.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Son, I Think I’ll Keep Him

  1. Ladywise says:

    That was so sweet of him!

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    Yeah it was. Assumed he was too 'cool' for such.

  3. An Ex-Expat says:

    Thbnaks. Goes to show, never underestimate your children.

  4. Emjay says:

    Yep – never underestimate your children…..

Leave a Reply

