Time to Cut Loose

No, no Census stuff today, work still in progress anyway.

Along with graduation, son got cards from friends, family and mentors, congratulating him on his graduation and in some cards there was also a check.  And while I had to push and sometimes threaten, son did create and mail out, thank notes to all from who he got $$$ from.

This week, his mother happens to be going through the pile of cards I told son he should have put away long ago, with the 30 questions on who sent it, when it was received and what was in it.  It got very annoying especially when she said she wants to know so she can thank the senders.

She can thank?!!!  First, son has taken care of the 'thank you's'. Second, Japanese cultural baggage aside, at 19, its high time for son to step up and handle this sort of stuff, and deal with the consequences if he doesn't.

Hell, what's his mother going to do, keep on acting as son's proxy when he's 35? 

There are times when I just want to scream.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Time to Cut Loose

  1. Katiebell says:

    Oh My! My parents had a rule, starting at age 6. If I did not write a thank you note for whatever, I didn't get to play with it, or use it if it was cash. It's ingrained in me to this day….

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    That we should have started this much earlier, would probably been better. I don't see anything wrong with verbally thanking those who sent son $$$$$; wife's udea is responding in kind, which I don't see as necessary.

  3. Emjay says:

    We used to be "encouraged" to write thank you notes on Christmas Day afternoon while the adults napped! It's really ingrained in me too and it irritates me if I don't get a thank you from someone I've sent a gift to – these days I'm happy if I get an email.

  4. Waterbaby says:

    You had to push the thank-you notes? By his age, having to do that is just wrong. My parents instilled that in me from like age 6. I mean no interference but it's he, not your wife, who needs to be doing notes.

  5. Waterbaby says:

    p.s. A verbal thank you wouldn't pass muster with me. It's got to be written.

  6. An Ex-Expat says:

    No argument there, but better late than never,

  7. pamik says:

    "Hell, what's his mother going to do, keep on acting as son's proxy when he's 35? "I've seen it at that age and beyond in Japan.

  8. An Ex-Expat says:

    Yep, seen that too in Japan. Its pitiful and depressing, and not something I want to see happen to son.

Leave a Reply

