Thoroughness is as Thoroughness Does?

As expected, I went out far away from home on my census rounds yesterday.  Besides being damned hot even inside the car, found myself chasing down addresses that were not there.

 So after a bit, I decided I was wasting time and money (not mine), returned home and checked the phantom addresses against Google Earth (to see if there was even a dwelling present and then the local county tax records office, and in the ones I checked against the county tax office records, I got a 'no records found' reply.

 Feeling rather full of myself, I went to the evening meeting with the crew leader, examined what I did, and in turn was told not to do that. I am to follow procedures (checking with neighbors or other proxies) instead as the action I took could be deemed intrusive.

 Left scratching my head as to the 'whys'. After all the information I accessed is public information…Oh well, they are the ones cutting the checks so…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thoroughness is as Thoroughness Does?

  1. Emjay says:

    It would seem logical to do what you did with Google Earth! I once looked at my address and could see my neighbour gardening – bent from the waist with her bottom pointed right at the "camera" . 🙂

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    LOL! Frankly I'd be more concerned about privacy over Google Earth stuff than I would the local tax records.

  3. Ladywise says:

    and talking to the neighbors isn't intrusive? I would think that would be way more intrusive than quietly researching the internet.

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    I hear you, but those are ther procedures we are to fiollow. Granted though, speaking to a person can yeaild more inforation than am on-line data base. But in this case, we are just tasked with finding out of the addresses we have in our case files are legit or not.

  5. Katiebell says:

    Wow. Craziness. It seems smart to me, but then again, i am not a governmental type. Well, it is a job. Best wishes with it.

  6. Waterbaby says:

    Listen, I've been punished, reprimanded, criticized and dismissed more often than you can imagine for using my brain and common sense at jobs. Thinking outside the box has NO place in government jobs and many others.

  7. An Ex-Expat says:

    True, but then with the pass/fail bar for this job at 10 out of I think it was 26 questions on the entrance examination…….. You get what you ask for I guess.

Leave a Reply

