No Fighting No Biting

Words I remember may father telling a few days before he died about the estate. 

Well bro Pound Slat is getting antsy about disposing of our mother's house and splitting up the proceeds 3 ways.  He's also very unhappy about the progress lil bro, who has never left that house, is not making.

Part of the problem is that lil bro cannot do much work outside as he has asthma.  The other is his personality, that he'd just rather not deal with things like go through the assorted junk my pack rat mother accumulated and give 95% the heave ho. 

I being closer to lil bro than Pound Salt have come up a couple of times to help out.  Auto gal suggested that with the loads of free time I have, that I spend time renovating the house to sell it for more money.  That's not practical because,

a.) the neighborhood has gone downhill generally and there's a family next door that has a grown son-drug addict lurking about.  Also I 695 runs right behind the house (and the others) which also does not enhance curb appeal.  We'll be lucky to get what we can get out of it.

b.) While it may be everyone's house lil bro, even while our mother was alive, was very territorial about the house and I've learned to leave well enough alone.

Turns out there's a reason, for Pound Salt to see the house disposed of quickly.  He's been told he will need a new heat pump before winter sets in and to quote, "I don't have 5 Grand to pull out of my ass."     So yes that's a big expense, but hey, I have tuition payments looming soon too.  And he has to remember that disposing of the estate is one thing, but lil bro does have to have a place to live too once our mother's house is sold.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No Fighting No Biting

  1. Katiebell says:

    Best Wishes getting the house situation settled. My Mother recently went through that and it turned really unpleasant. In fact, she really doesn't speak to one of the three brothers any more, and I try to avoid any contact with them either…Sounds like Pound Salt needs to pick up some overtime, and fund an emergency fund!

  2. Emjay says:

    I hope this can be settled without too much acrimony between brothers. I have a friend who has just gone through a similar situation with her brother – they don't talk to each other anymore.

  3. Waterbaby says:

    I'd research and pay close attention to the impending tax changes and hikes Obama has in store for us. For one, capital gains taxes are set to skyrocket as of 2011. One should not dismiss the ruinous course we are on neither what it means in terms of home sales and etc. That's my two cents, take it for what it's worth.

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    That's why its nice to have a CPA (Pound Salt) in the family.

  5. An Ex-Expat says:

    That is what I fear as well. Frankly the best course I think would be for lil bro to do is have the houses assessed then take out a loan for 2/3rds of the value, split that in half between Pound Salt and I and then decide at his lesiure what he wants to do.

  6. An Ex-Expat says:

    It sad how people can get so squrrely over money. My mother;s esteta is not worth all that much either. The house, if put on the market, probably would just draw about 200K, which split 3 ways is nothing to sneeze at, but its not a king's ransom ether

Leave a Reply

