Faux Pas du Jour

When in elementary school, son hung out a bit with a kid, mother Chinese, father like me, white, and then from junior high, son and the other kid both went their own ways, with us keeping in touch sporadically, such as the mother sometimes forwarding on internet humor to me from time to time.

Got one such mail from her today and in a flash of inspiration, in my reply asked, since she and her husband liked to party a lot, if they were going to throw an empty nest party once their son (and only child) also leaves for college.

The reply I got back was "Mike and I divorced 3 years ago'.   

 

Oooops! Or as son commented, 'That was awkward'.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Faux Pas du Jour

  1. Katiebell says:

    Oh my! I've done that a few times myself, especially after getting back in touch with people on Facebook after a few years…..

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    Yeah, its not like the couple would send out annoucments or such….Still it was a bit of a shock…of all the people sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

