Out of Towners

Spotted a car here bearing Maine plates 2 days ago. Yes, there are lots of explanations as to 'Why?', like they may be military, and for reasons unbeknownst to me, are allowed to keep their out of state license plates on their cars; like my neighbor, who even after 3 years here still has his Alaska plates on.

But supposing for the moment, they folks were visiting or just passing through.  I've wondered how the difference in climate, in the warmer months here, affects them?  Sure it does get warm in Maine (never been there) but I am sure its nothing like the temperatures or humidity we have here inthe Mid Atlantic States (can't imagine how they'd fare in the summer in the Gulf States for that matter).

Differences in climate, or rather latitude, were brought home to me many years back while we were in England in early September.  It struck me that there was no AC in the hotel room we had and that by the time we reached Edinburgh, we had to go shopping for an overcoat and sweater (we'd still be in Tee shirts of short sleeves in the U.S.  Realized a great mystery from childhood had cleared.  In many of the narratives we read about early colonial history here was that the heat, killed off a number of the early English settlers.  Couldn't for the life of me understand why, after all I and the other kids in the neighborhood ran about outside during summer vacation without any ill effects.   I understood though that the early settlers simply weren't used to/prepared for the great difference in summer climate and that is what the history books were speaking about.

All that said, its going to be a hot-sticky day today and outside of going to the Baccalaureate, I think I'll be inside.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Out of Towners

  1. Emjay says:

    I arrived here in DC in a January and about 2 days later we had 8 inches of snow. I had "winter clothes" but they were Sydney winter clothes – woefully inadequate for here. Then 7 months later I could not believe how humid it gets here – I laughed about all the "red alert poor air quality" days here but it's not really funny. I dislike winter here but I really *hate* the summers.

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    There's the old story, before AC was common, that the British stationd at the DC embassy received the same special pay as their compatriots stationed in tropical parts of The British Empire.

  3. Katiebell says:

    I always wonder how people do keep their out of state plates. For me, they were such a pain (I kept getting pulled over in the wee hours of the morning going to and from work…) that I ran to the DMV, as soon as I legally could.

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    Dunno, as I wrote, it seems the DoD and the lcoal DMV's here have worked out soemthing to allow those transferrd here for short term, to keep their plates.

    Not sure to feel flattered, glad or sad to learn the humidity we suffer through is what there is in S. Fla.

  5. pamik says:

    Of course it depends on the individual, but I know in my family everyone except me would rather deal with sub-zero temps and snow than heat and humidity. Compared to Japan, we never get all that hot and humid in northern New England, but the way people grip about it you'd think we were in Taiwan or something when it gets hot and steamy. That kind of weather rarely lasts for more than a week at most here.

  6. An Ex-Expat says:

    Agreed, it all relative. As for Japan, one of the things I DO NOT miss is the Tsuyu and its aftermath. Not even Saipan was that unbearable!

  7. Waterbaby says:

    Take it from one who has lived in all variety of climates except the Arctic, weather DOES make a difference! (especially for those who are very sensitive to our environments)

Leave a Reply

