Stuff

My late mother, like the others I know well on her side of the family was a hoarder. Why?  Was it from growing up during The Depression, or some sort of physiological quirk?  Thus youngest brother has quiet a job ahead of him in cleaning up and out  from all the stuff she 'saved' over the some 50 odd years she lived in that house. 

Mentioned the Asian pottery and prints we were willed by her. She also had set aside a zip lock back of stuff for me in which was;

  • My union card (Retail Clerks), from when I was a union member (not by choice) at my college job.
  • My SAT score report.  There was much to learn from that.  Realized I had taken the SAT in the spring of my grad year!!!  Well past the submission deadlines for colleges, even back then.  What was I thinking, or not?  And where the hell were my parents in this process?  Not there.  This is why I've been so anal with son over getting into college. See my scores were opposite son's. I aced the verbal and the math- well let's talk about something else, shall we?
  • A short essay I wrote for my communicant class, embellished with a sniffy note from the pastor then about my poor penmanship. It was better I think then.
  • A Merry Christmas note from son to her, written maybe when he was in 2nd grade.
  • 3 pure silver 50 cent coins.
  • The power of attorney letter I wrote to her & my father for them to handle any financial business I had when I realized  I was in Japan for the long haul.
  • The program card from my high school graduation.
  • Etc.,

What on earth processed her to save this stuff, and moreover some of the stuff I thought I had pitched. So does that mean she was trash can diving?

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuff

  1. Waterbaby says:

    As an anti-clutter nazi, I can't speak to why people keep things. Dunno whether hers was but serious hoarding is a psychological illness.

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    To paraphrase an ex-President, it depends on what you mean by 'serious'. That aside, I've seen worse on TV, but the sole surviving sibling's house, is not paragon of neatness and order. Think its a family trait-affliction.

Leave a Reply

