The Census; End of the Week

Had absolutely wonderful weather as I went about my rounds yesterday.  Wish I could say the same for making headway in getting responses- only got 3 done. One a follow up from a previous day's work and the other 2, someone was home and willing to spend about 10 minutes or so going through the questions; was even offered some water my the last household I did for the day.

But then there were houses where it was painfully obvious there was someone at home but not willing to answer the door. For three or so others, it was questionable if any of the houses were occupied.  Did go to one neighbor to ask and confirm and it was very obvious from voice, facial expression and body language that the owner wanted me to go away quickly.  Didn't understand why until I spotted the Yarmulke on his head. 'Uh, oh/ooops, its The Sabbath and I'm intruding", I said to myself.  So I made it as brief as possible and apologized for disturbing him.

Then there was this guy, who my gut was telling me was trying to blow me off. Said he had mailed in 2 Census forms (Hmmmmm) already and that I really out to speak to his wife on a weekday. Righto, I will do that.

Then the last chore was meeting at the nearby McDonald's in the evening to turn in completed cases and time sheets as the work week closes each Saturday( have to wait about 11 days before the pay is oput into the bank).  Good news too was I hooked up with one of the Korean-speaking census takers, who said she'd be happy to do the household where the occupants speak only Korean.

No work today.  Don 't care if the government would like us to work, its Mother's Day and putting myself on the other side of a house front door, the appearance of a census taker today would be as welcome as a turd in a punchbowl.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Census; End of the Week

  1. Waterbaby says:

    Did the entire Census staff have Mother's Day off or you?

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    Recall some in our crew said they were planning to go out and pound doors on Mother's Day!

  3. Waterbaby says:

    is that right? nuthin' like some governmental heartlessness with your champagne brunch …

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    Yeah, I think its pretty unsensitive.

  5. Waterbaby says:

    *insensitive.* our government?! say it ain't so!

Leave a Reply

