Census Taking Day 2

Yesterday was the day I was to meet with my crew leader to hand in time sheets and also completed cases.  Before doing that I went through the neighbor I had been through the day before and saw that at 2 houses, things were not as they had been.  Thanks to a nearby neighbor who was happy to act as a proxy, I got one more cased completed.  At another house, well I have heard from neighbors that the occupant is a bit of a recluse, so…..

Now we were told over and over we cannot put in more than 40 hours a week without written permission; we can work over 40 hours a week and still be paid, but that paycheck will be the last we'll also get we were admonished.  Looked at my hours and saw I needed to be careful.  Was planning to go out last night but as soon as I got in the door from my meeting with the crew leader, there was a message from the local office telling me my fingerprints weren't "right and that they needed to be redone.

All in my group had their prints taken; ink on paper.  Well at the local office, there were 2 scanners. So all I had to do was apply some Cornhuskers Lotion (They've got business for life now I guess) to my finger tips and then had them scanned and 'accepted'.  I burned an hour of my time on that. So to keep waste down, why couldn't the scanners be brought to the place where our group had its training?  Had started to put the  time I spent going too and from the local office on my own time sheet, but no, I was told I was to do it there (and they are goig to keep the crew leader in the loop?)  and also I needed to know and enter the crew leader's number on each time sheet (wasn't told that ither in trasining or by my crew leader). So much for the efficiency of the federal government.

Am planning to go out today assuming the weather cooperates, but with son's work schedule, there's going to be much time juggling.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Census Taking Day 2

  1. Emjay says:

    Looks like it's going to rain this morning – a few sprinkles here already – and I just heard the weather guy say that there might be a freeze warning tonight!!!!

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    Niiiiice. Oh well, if there's rain, I am certaintly not going door to door and will ot work on Mother's Day; that's just too ham-handed.

    Freeze warning tonight? Like my late aunt, who grew up on a farm and married a farmer once said to me 'You don't put plants in the ground here until after Mother's Day'.

  3. Emjay says:

    LOL – wish I'd listened to your aunt! I would like to think that DC "city" will not get down to freezing again until November. Hold onto your hat if you go out this afternoon.

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    Call it what you will, but she's been proven right about 95% of the time. I will get my plants from a nursery out in Loudoun (DiBaggio's) probably this weekend.

  5. Waterbaby says:

    it's fun listening to the haps in the world of the Census.

Leave a Reply

