Employment -of Sorts

I am now a sworn-in federal employee for the Census count.  only we are not called census takers, but enumerators as we enumerate…..  Specifically we NRFU (Narfoo) which sounds more like a fictional character or verb from a Dr. Seuss book NRFU BTW= Non Response Follow Up). The gig is only for 8 weeks, if it even lasts that long, but hey its $20 an hour plus mileage more than I am making right now.

Had a very heavy dose of government-ese/ government think yesterday, which felt like the soul being sucked out.  Our ID was handed out in a manner that reminded be of a priest passing out communion wafers to his congregation and would not have been surprised if he had intoned as he passed each one out,  "Senatus Populus Que Washingtionus" .

Was sobering to see there were a number of men there in the same situation as Yours Truly (ulp!).  FWIW, the woman who sat next to me, and presently an owner of a Lexus ES 350, said that this'll be the last Toyota she'll own -fallout from The Mess. 

 

Still there were some interesting factoids. One is how zealously individual data is guarded; not even the IRS can get individual census data we were told.  In can go to this extreme; was told by a woman who has done this before that a worker visited a home to find the occupants smoking weed, and called the police.  The worker was fired for violating privacy rules. Hell according to the material I am to read, I can't even put in a mailbox the standard 'you have been visited by the Census Bureau' as that too is a no-no.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Employment -of Sorts

  1. Emjay says:

    Well congratulations…. $20 an hour is great money – even if the length is not that long – I hope it lasts as long as possible. I hope you get a nice neighbourhood – I mailed ours but I'm pretty sure the NRFUs are going to be busy in my area.I find it annoying that no-one except USPS is allowed to put things in mailboxes – it just means a lot of litter from menus, newsletters and circulars blowing around the street.

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    Well, as explained to me, in the great thinking of the federal government, mailboxes are considered as federal property, so….I guess I am guilty as I have opened my neighbor's mailbox to put in misdelivered mail. But yes that sort of thinking is annoying and leads to unintended consequences; which is why I believe that government is actually the problem, not the solution

  3. Waterbaby says:

    Congratulations! Wonderful to have some work and well-paid at that. "One is how zealously individual data is guarded; not even the IRS can get individual census data we were told." – I neither believe nor trust that.

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    Its a good feeling to go out and be paid for something, but given the government "think" I've been exposed to for the past 2 days, I think after 1 week, I'd suddenly jump up, run out, my eyeballs crossed, pulling my hair and me screaming incoherently; makes a nice visual, huh?

    Thought you had appled for same work?

  5. Waterbaby says:

    @Expat – Government (non) think is scary and yes I did.

Leave a Reply

