Delayed Reaction

Had a moment last weekend at a store that I initially sloughed off as being and looking too thrifty for my own good, but thinking it over, don't really see it that way and have let the owners know this.

 

April 28, 2010

 

 

 

XXX XXXX   XXXX

XXX XXXX XXXX
Leesburg, VA 20175

 

Dear Sir or Madam,

 

I am writing to you about my experience at XXX XXXXX  XXXXX last Saturday afternoon (4/24).

I live in Fairfax County and have patronized XXX XXXXX XXXX to spend some relaxing time and enjoy good coffee while I wait for my son to finish his part-time weekend job at nearby Aldie.

On that day, I got a cup of coffee, after a small wait as the person behind the counter that day had to prepare another pot, got my coffee, sat down to enjoy it.  After I had finished my coffee and got up to pay for it, the person behind the counter made a remark about me being able to afford to pay for the coffee while there were two other customers at the counter. 

I am assuming he made that remark based on my appearance; I had on a pair of blue jeans that are clearly patched at the left knee and had on a shirt with a frayed collar.  There is a reason for this, I have been unemployed for over 2 years and rather that spend money of clothes for myself, money for clothing goes for my son's needs and I mend what I have and forgo new clothing.  Likewise being out of work means spend limited money on a cup of coffee at XXX XXXXX XXXX or any other like establishment is a small but extravagant expenditure.

The person behind the counter of course would not/could not have known this, but at the same time, from my own experience in customer service, it is his job to make sure customers have a good experience so that they will consider coming back.  From my experience on last Saturday, I do not feel comfortable about coming back to XXX XXXX  XXXX.

 

 

Sincerely

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Delayed Reaction

  1. caprandom says:

    Geez, I'm always amazed when I see these stories (been on the receiving hand of this too)!
    The holier-than-thou attitude is what really gets me. Reminds me of the time I got into an argument over how a steep driveay is not really a wheelchair-friendly alternative nor having people carrying my mother as a sack of potatoes so she could vote is a respectful way to treat someone…

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    It'll be interestimg to see what if any response is forthcoming from this coffee shop.

  3. Emjay says:

    I really hate assumptions like that. They have no idea about us as people. I wonder if you will get a response.

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    As of yesterday's mail, nope, nothing yet.

  5. caprandom says:

    Count me too in the "interested" column.

Leave a Reply

