A Factoid I Did Not Know

Was in Whole Foods yesterday, not a regular patron as the company is the Nieman Marcus (aka Needless Markup) of grocery stores, but had a gift card so I was there to buy another pound of so of a regional blend (called Chesapeake Bay Blend here) which is really very good.

As I was measuring out the beans for grinding, the section clerk came by and I remarked that of all the beans they have out, this particular blend does seem to move quickly.  I was told in return that that is probably due to particular the aroma and full-bodied flavor this bend has which appeals to so many.  I also said that despite the very dark beans, the coffee does not 'wire' me very much either.

And what I was told, and the factoid, was that the darker the roasted bean, the less caffeine there should be thus less of a jolt.  Seems counterintuitive to me, especially as espresso blends are very, very dark, but she's selling/roasting the stuff so I guess she should know what she's speaks of.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Factoid I Did Not Know

  1. Emjay says:

    We are lucky enough to have a friend in Hawaii who grows Kona coffee for market – which we buy. His favoured roast is 50/50 – dark/medium.

  2. Waterbaby says:

    Yes, I've heard that too about dark beans.

  3. An Ex-Expat says:

    Kona coffee! Quite the freind you have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

