Where The “Wild” Things Are

Son took this mid-day, a few days ago.

 

What is amazing is that the deer were/are completely unfazed by human presence, taking their time, nibbling on someone's flowers here, munching on someone's shrubbery there.  Absolutely no need to go and survive in the wild.  Also very unusal for a doe to have three fawns.

Bro. Pound Salt, an avid deer hunter, would probably salivate had this passed by his front door.

 

Post Script:  Last night, these deer came out again to munch and we quickly noticed the group was minus one fawn- probably hit by an automobile.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Where The “Wild” Things Are

  1. wow that is so exciting – though I suspect not so good for the garden!

  2. An Ex-Expat says:

    Right on that one. Wife thinks they (the deer) are so kawaii, but I want to hear her tune once she's seen what's been done to her flowers.

  3. Waterbaby says:

    I see deer, I see dinner. BTW, you ever see the deer in Nara? Sweet little doe-eyed gentle creatures, pfffsshaw! They were so aggressive, they had me frozen in fear!

  4. An Ex-Expat says:

    Yeah I did the Nara deer thing. Pushy yes. Fuinnt thing was given the cookies, I thought they were for me to munch on, much to the amusment of the woman I was dating at the time.

  5. Waterbaby says:

    lol, too funny! another baka gaijin desu nee?

  6. An Ex-Expat says:

    Uh huh, another ばか外人. It would have bene nice of the woman though to have told me the biscuts were for the deer, not for humans. Slightly off-topic though, I hiked around, deep in the mountians in 飛騨 and what surpirsed me them as in other palces, was the marked absence of wildlfe, be it squirrels , songbirds etc. And no, I don't buy into it was because we humans were tramping about.

  7. Waterbaby says:

    Can't read: 飛騨.

  8. An Ex-Expat says:

    Hida- The area generally around Takayama, in Gifu.

  9. Waterbaby says:

    whaddya think accounted for that?

  10. An Ex-Expat says:

    That's the puzzle. I/we were so deep into the mountains, human presence/footprint was small. Now Hokkaido is probably another story alltogether. It is as I waas told, different.

  11. Waterbaby says:

    instinct tells me to look at the food supply as being insufficient or wrong.

  12. An Ex-Expat says:

    Can't say. It was fairly wild where we were and you'd think there'd be a good food supply, but ….

Leave a Reply

